The Best Way to Spend an Afternoon

It has been really hot the past few weeks, the kind of hot dry days that almost makes you forget that it can be -20F in the winter. The kind of heat that demands that you get out on the water. I love these days. A few weekends ago I started off with the plan of one of my go-to summer activities and discovered a whole new go-to activity.

I am not sure how I first discovered that anyone can rent sea kayaks from the dock at Signal Mountain Lodge. However, every summer for the past few years I have gone with Boyfriend, local friends and visiting friends to enjoy a day on the lake paddling around. This is a go-to summer activity for me for two reasons.

1) Easy. The boats are waiting for you on the shore, no getting the kayak on the roof of the car, no rushing back to return it on time and no awkward carrying the boat to the shore.

2) Relaxing. Nothing says summer like the sun beating down on you while paddling along, with the Tetons in the background.

Of course I am quite hungry after paddling around so I head over to Leek’s Pizzeria for the best calzone in Jackson Hole. P.S. The pizza is also the best. I discovered Leek’s when I was working as a river rafting guide in Jackson Hole during college, but that is a whole other blog post. Anyway, It’s just the best way to spend an afternoon…

Or so I thought it was the best way to spend an afternoon, until two friends from college came along with Boyfriend and me and together we rented a motorboat! We arrived with our snacks, cold drinks and sunscreen (local’s tip: always bring sunscreen on your outings). We opted for the upgrade to a boat with a steering wheel and off we went. Who knew that so much exploring was possible outside the small kayaking bay? First we went to Moran Bay where we turned off the boat and enjoyed the sun at the base of Moran mountain. Since we still had not eaten lunch we opened our snacks of cherries, grapes and guacamole and salsa from Pica’s. We lost track of time basking in the sun, chatting and snacking. I can’t remember the last time I was so relaxed. Once we were full and feeling toasty from the sun we turned on the motor and explored the lake, scouted potential hikes and took turns driving. This was the first time I drove a motorboat and it was as fun as it looks. Time passed quickly and before we knew it it was time to head back to the marina and return the boat. A funny thing about lakes, it is surprisingly easy to get disoriented and we found ourselves in a little bay surrounded by greenery. With our views of the mountains and other boaters blocked it was quiet possibly the most peaceful place on the lake. Unfortunately, we had to return the boat before closing and could not stay to linger. We quickly returned the boat and of course ended our day with pizza at Leek’s.

2 thoughts on “The Best Way to Spend an Afternoon

  1. Fantastic idea! We are serious kayakers and have even gotten my 82 year old day out ‘yaking a couple of times. He is here visiting again and I think a motorboat might be just the thing! We can show him more of the lake and (call me lazy) I can save my energy for my next wedding shoot 🙂
    Fun!
    Linda Swope
    Swope’s Mountain Photography

Leave a Comment

